It’s vision is to develop high quality, skilled and employable human resource, in an effort to create and increase wealth to the nation.


It’s mission is to facilitate technical and vocational training in Malawi to ensure a high quality, skilled, employable and productive workforce necessary for socio-economic development.


  1. To develop and interpret technical and vocational training policy.
  2. To administer, manage and coordinate the implementation of policies relating to technical and vocational training.
  3. To register public and private technical and vocational institutions throughout the country.
  4. To provide leadership to public technical colleges.
  5. To coordinate with TEVET Authority on provision of formal and informal programmes.
  6. To coordinate and monitor the operations of private technical colleges throughout the country.
  7. To ensure transparent and gender balanced recruitment and training of students.
  8. To provide quality assurance in the training system. 

Achievements for the Department 

The department finalized the review of the  TEVET Policy and is currently reviewing the TEVET Act, the Ministry has reviewed the Policy and Act following the latest developments in the sector, so that TEVET programs should address current needs on the market.   The current Policy and Act which the sector is using were reviewed in 2013 and 1999 respectively. 

The second edition of the TEVET Policy had four key priority areas. The current one has six key priority areas (KPA); namely, Access and Equity; Quality and Relevance; Research and Development; Governance and Management; Funding and Financing; and Cross-cutting Issues. 

TEVET sector has also seen a number of reforms such as: harmonization of curricula and assessment; the introduction of Community Technical Colleges, the establishment of Community Skills Development Centres as an addition to National Technical Colleges and the devolution of governance and management by establishing Boards of Governance and Management committees in colleges.  

As of now the country has 7 public National Technical Colleges, 16 Community Technical Colleges and 23 Community Skills Development Centres that are in operation.  In January 2022 the Ministry is planning to open 10 Community Technical Colleges namely: Rumphi, Nkhotakota, Nsoni in Chiradzulu, Machinga, Ngabu in Chikwawa, Kabvinkhama in Mzimba, Ntonda in Ntcheu, Nansomba in Mulanje, Sakata in Zomba and Tengani in Nsanje, out of these 10 Colleges 5 have been constructed with support from the Chinese Government. 

The Department with support from the World Bank under the Skills for A Vibrant Economy (SAVE) Project will soon be implementing a USD100 million project. Ministries of Labour and Education are the implementing agencies of the project. Out of the USD100 million, TEVET sector has been allocated USD30 million.  The project objective is to increase equitable access to market-relevant skills in priority areas of the economy, especially for females and vulnerable youth. 

All the 7 public National Technical Colleges (NTCs), 10 Community Technical Colleges (CTCs), 10 Community Skills Development Centres (CSDCs) and 10 Private Colleges will benefit from the loan.  

Zantchito under European Union Project

The Malawi Government with grant from the European Union will be implementing Zantchito – Skills for job programme.  

The objective of the project is to increase employability and self-employment opportunities available to young TEVET graduates and entrepreneurs, with special attention to women's needs. The total amount of the grant is EUR 55 000 000.  


There are three levels of technical, entrepreneurial and vocational education and training (TEVET) colleges in the country.



1.   Mzuzu Technical College

2.   Livingstonia Technical College


1.   Lilongwe Technical College

2.   Namitete Technical College

3.   Salima Technical College


1.   Sochi Technical College

2.   Nasawa Technical College



3.   Kasama Community Technical College

4.   Ngara Community Technical College

5.   Ezondweni Community Technical College

6.   NkhataBay Community Technical College.


4.   Mbandira Community Technical College

5.   Kapondo Community Technical College

6.   Mponela Community Technical College

7.   Linthipe Community Technical College


3.   Chongoni Community Technical College

4.   Chilobwe community Technical College

5.   Thumbwe Community Technical College

6.   Milonga Community Technical College

7.   Naminjiwa Community Technical College

8.   Mangochi Community Technical College

9.   Aida Chilembwe Community Technical College
10. Khwisa Community Technical College


1.   Sonda Community Skills Development Centre

2.   Manyamula Community Skills Development Centre

3.   Mpamba Community Skills Development Centre

4.   Mbulunji Community Skills Development Centre

5.   Zolokere Community Skills Development Centre

6.   Mkazimasika Community Skills Development Centre


1.   Kapoti Community Skills Development Centre

2.   Nkhwazi Community Skills Development Centre

3.   Kawamba Community Skills Development Centre

4.   Kasungu Community Skills Development Centre

5.   Ngodzi Community Skills Development Centre

6.   Nkhotakota Community Skills Development Centre

7.   Nthiransembe Community Skills Development Centre

8.   Mgayi Community Skills Development Centre

9.   Ntchisi Community Skills Development Centre

10. Tchesa Community Skills Development Centre


Sakata Community Skills Development Centre

1.   Malindi Community Skills Development Centre

2.   Misanjo Community Skills Development Centre

3.   Nyambi Community Skills Development Centre

4.   Ukalanga Community Skills Development Centre

5.   Nankhudwe Community Skills Development Centre

6.   Mpemba Community Skills Development Centre

7.   Chapananga Community Skills Development Centre (not yet opened)

8.   Namanja Community Skills Development Centre (not yet opened)

9.   Galamukani Community Skills Development Centre (not yet opened)


© Copyright Ministry of Labour 2021. Design & Development by Department of E-government